Alpaca & Llama Breeds

There are four species of South American camelid: Llamas (Lama glama) and Alpacas (Lama pacos) are domesticated and Vicuna (Vicugna vicugna) and Guanaco (Lama guanicoe) remain wild and are protected species. All four are found mainly in Peru in the Andes, with smaller numbers in Chile and Bolivia.


Alpaca Breeds

Society website:

  • Huacaya - The more common breed of alpaca is the hardy Huacaya whose soft and dense fibre has a crimp, lustre and insulating properties much sought after by the textile business.
  • Suri - has a lustrous fine fibre with no crimp, that hangs down from the body in long pencil like locks. Although Suri numbers are rising due to the efforts of some breeders, they are in the minority.

Llama Breeds

Society website:

  • Ccara - the most commonly seen type in the UK, has a short to medium length coat with very short fibre on the legs and head and tends to be larger than the Tampuli.
  • Tampuli – is more heavily woolled than the Ccara, its coat extending down the legs and often distinguished by a woolly "topknot"